Aller au contenu principal

Team

Sylvie Parent, Ph.D.

Sylvie Parent, PhD, is a Full Professor in the Department of Physical Education at Laval University. Her research focuses on violence in sports, whether sexual, psychological, physical or neglect.  Specifically, her current work focuses on developping measuring tools in order to study the prevalence of violence and its associated risk factors, the impact of violence in sports on the physical and mental health of young participants, the violence experienced by young officials in the course of their duties, and the various contexts of athletes’ victimization (university environment, sexual minorities). In addition to her involvement in research, Ms. Parent has been working, since 2004, with the government and sport community to combat violence against athletes. Among her most notable accomplishments, she co-founded Sport’Aide in 2014, an organization aimed at preventing violence in sport. In addition, she has been invited to sit on various ministerial committees to discuss the following issues :  bullying, the establishment of an independent entity for handling complaints of violence in sport, the development of a ministerial statement on violence in sport, and the design of the Sportbienetre.ca platform. She is also a regular researcher at the Interdisciplinary Research Centre on Intimate Relationship Problems and Sexual Abuse (CRIPCAS), an associate researcher at the Applied interdisciplinary research on intimate, family and structural violence (RAIV) and a co-investigator at the International Research Network on Violence in Sport (IRNOVIS).

Awards & honours


Distinction – Faculty of Educational Sciences
To celebrate the Women of Influence in Sport and Physical Activity Award
Quebec City, 2018

Women of Influence in Sport and Physical Activity Award
Innovation Division – Physical Activity Initiative
Égale Action
Montreal, 2017

Femmes de mérite Finalist
Category Sport
YWCA of Quebec
Quebec, 2006

Students

Photo de profil vide
Célia Cantin
Coming shortly.
Allyson Gillard
Allyson Gillard holds a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology from Laval University. She is currently a doctoral student in educational psychology at the same university under the supervision of Sylvie Parent and Marie-Pier Vaillancourt-Morel. She is interested in the factors associated with sexual violence in sport. Allyson is currently the coordinator of the Quebec Athletes’ Experiences Study.
Jessica Mapolin-Gilbert
Jessica Mapolin-Gilbert graduated in clinical psychology at Paul-Valéry University in France and then at the University of Quebec in Trois-Rivières. She is currently pursuing a master’s degree in sexology profile research-intervention specialized in “Sexuality Education and Promotion of Sexual Health” at the University of Quebec in Montreal. She hopes to improve her expertise in the development of empowerment tools for coaches regarding sexual violence in sport and in the prevention of this situation. Her master’s thesis studies the coach-athlete relationship, in a context of sexual violence, in athletics among the Caribbean population.
Photo d'Alexanne Prince
Alexanne Prince
Candidate for the master’s degree in sexology, recherche-intervention profile at UQAM. Alexanne is working on the creation of programs for sexuality education of adolescents and youth workers and is responsible for scientific monitoring and social media for the SIMS Chair. She wishes to develop expertise in the prevention of sexual violence in sports and youth recreation. Her master’s thesis is about the analysis of the training needs of managers of Quebec sports federations in the prevention of sexual violence against minor athletes.
William
William Simard
William Simard graduated with a B.A. in sports intervention from Laval University. He is currently pursuing a master’s degree in physical education at this same university. Along with his research director Andrea Woodburn and co-director Sylvie Parent, he is undertaking research related to the training of coaches on prevention of abuse of athletes. In addition to serving as a student researcher for the SIMS Chair, he is a certified coach (PNCE) for the Rouge et Or Badminton. 
Photo de Elisabeth St-Pierre
Elisabeth St-Pierre
Elisabeth is a master student in Educational psychology at Laval University under the supervision of Sylvie Parent and Nadine Deslauriers-Varin. Her thesis focuses on the modus operandi of coaches who have committed sexual abuse in a sport context. She is also involved in the Étude sur les expériences des jeunes officiels du Québec (EJOQ) and the Étude sur le vécu des athlètes du Québec (ÉVAQ). Her research interests focus on the different types of violence in sport (sexual, psychological, physical, neglect) and sexual crimes. 

Research professional

Stépahnie Radziszewski
Stephanie Radziszweski
Stephanie Radziszewski holds a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology from the Université du Québec à Montréal where she is currently pursuing a PhD in Community Psychology. She is involved with the Chair as a research professional. Her interests lie in the area of power issues, particularly the impact of social structures on such issues. In addition, Stephanie is interested in qualitative methods and participatory action research.

Aller au contenu principal

Équipe

Sylvie Parent, Ph.D.

Sylvie Parent, Ph.D. est professeure titulaire au Département d’éducation physique de l’Université Laval. Ses travaux de recherche portent sur la violence en contexte sportif, qu’elle soit sexuelle, psychologique, physique ou de l’ordre de la négligence. De façon plus spécifique, ses travaux actuels portent sur la mesure de la prévalence du phénomène et des facteurs de risque associés, sur l’impact de la violence en contexte sportif sur la santé physique et mentale des jeunes participants, sur la violence vécue par les jeunes officiels dans le cadre de leurs fonctions ainsi que sur divers contextes de victimisation des athlètes (milieu universitaire, minorités sexuelles). En plus de ses implications en recherche, Mme Parent s’est investie depuis 2004 à travailler en concertation avec le milieu gouvernemental et sportif afin de lutter contre la violence envers les athlètes. Parmi ses réalisations les plus marquantes, elle a co-fondé l’organisme Sport’Aide en 2014, un organisme visant à prévenir la violence en contexte sportif. De plus, elle a été invitée à siéger sur divers comités ministériels, notamment sur l’intimidation, sur la mise en place d’une entité indépendante pour le traitement des plaintes de violence en sport, sur l’élaboration d’un énoncé ministériel en matière de lutte à la violence en contexte sportif ainsi que sur la conception de la plate-forme Sportbienetre.ca. Elle est également chercheure régulière au sein du Centre de recherche interdisciplinaire sur les problèmes conjugaux et les agressions sexuelles (CRIPCAS), chercheure associée au Centre de Recherches appliquées et interdisciplinaires sur les violences intimes, familiales et structurelles (RAIV) ainsi que co-chercheure au sein du International Research Network on Violence in Sport (IRNOVIS).

Prix et distinctions


Distinction – Faculté des sciences de l’éducation
Pour souligner l’obtention du prix Femmes d’influence en sport et activité physique
Québec, 2018

Prix Femmes d’influence en sport et activité physique
Volet Innovation – Initiative en activité physique
Égale Action
Montréal, 2017

Finaliste au concours Femmes de mérite
Catégorie Sport

YWCA de Québec
Québec, 2006

Étudiantes et étudiants dirigés

Photo de profil vide
Célia Cantin
Informations à venir.
Allyson Gillard
Allyson Gillard détient un baccalauréat en psychologie de l’Université Laval. Elle est présentement étudiante au Doctorat en psychopédagogie à cette même université sous la supervision de Sylvie Parent et Marie-Pier Vaillancourt-Morel. Elle s’intéresse aux facteurs associés à la violence sexuelle en contexte sportif. Allyson est actuellement coordonnatrice du projet Étude sur le vécu des athlètes du Québec.
Jessica Mapolin-Gilbert
Jessica Mapolin-Gilbert
Jessica Mapolin-Gilbert est diplômée en psychologie clinique à l’Université Paul-Valéry en France puis à l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières. Elle poursuit actuellement des études en maîtrise de sexologie concentration Recherche-Intervention spécialité « Éducation à la sexualité et promotion de la santé sexuelle » à l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Elle souhaite améliorer son expertise quant au développement d’outils d’empowerment pour les entraîneurs face aux violences sexuelles dans le sport et en matière de prévention face à cette situation. Son mémoire porte sur la relation entraîneur-athlète, dans un contexte de violence sexuelle, en athlétisme au sein de la population antillaise.
Alexanne Prince
Alexanne Prince
Candidate à la maîtrise en sexologie, profil recherche-intervention, UQAM. Alexanne travaille à la création de programmes en éducation à la sexualité auprès d’adolescent·es et d’intervenant·es jeunesse et s’occupe de la veille scientifique et des médias sociaux pour la Chaire SIMS. Cette dernière désire développer une expertise en prévention des violences sexuelles dans les sports et les loisirs jeunesse. Son mémoire porte sur l’analyse des besoins de formation des gestionnaires des fédérations sportives québécoises en matière de prévention de la violence sexuelle envers les athlètes mineur·es.
William Simard
William Simard
William Simard est diplômé au baccalauréat en intervention sportive à l’Université Laval. Il poursuit actuellement ses études au 2e cycle à la maîtrise en psychopédagogie en éducation physique, et ce, toujours à l’Université Laval. En compagnie de sa directrice de recherche Andrea Woodburn et de sa co-directrice Sylvie Parent, il entreprend des recherches entourant la formation des entraîneurs sportifs sur la prévention de la maltraitance envers les athlètes. En plus d’agir à titre d’étudiant chercheur pour la Chaire SIMS, il occupe un poste d’entraîneur certifié (PNCE) au sein du Rouge et Or Badminton.
Elisabeth St-Pierre
Elisabeth St-Pierre
Elisabeth est étudiante à la maîtrise en psychopédagogie à l’Université Laval sous la supervision de Sylvie Parent et Nadine Deslauriers-Varin. Son mémoire porte sur le mode opératoire des entraîneurs ayant commis des abus sexuels en contexte sportif. Elle est également impliqué au sein de l’Étude sur les expériences des jeunes officiels du Québec (EJOQ) et l’Étude sur le vécu des athlètes du Québec (ÉVAQ). Ses intérêts de recherches portent principalement sur les différents types de violence en sport (sexuelle, psychologique, physique, négligence) et les crimes de nature sexuelle.

Professionnelles et professionnels de recherche

Stépahnie Radziszewski
Stephanie Radziszweski
Stephanie Radziszewski est diplômée d’un baccalauréat en psychologie de l’Université du Québec à Montréal où elle poursuit actuellement un doctorat en psychologie communautaire. Elle est impliquée au sein de la Chaire à titre de professionnelle de recherche. Ses intérêts portent sur les enjeux de pouvoir, notamment sur l’impact des structures sociales sur de tels enjeux. De plus, Stephanie s’intéresse aux méthodes qualitatives ainsi qu’à la recherche action participative.